Skip to main content

An Official Vermont Government Website

Vermont State Logo


The Taskforce will be co-chaired by Mourning Fox, Deputy Commissioner of Mental Health, and Daniel Barkhuff, Emergency Medicine Physician at UVM Medical Center.

Members include:

  • David Baker, Superintendent, Windsor Southeast Supervisory Union;
  • Dr. Rebecca Bell, Pediatric Critical Care, UVM Medical Center;
  • William Bohynak, Orange County Sheriff;
  • Cara Cookson, Public Policy Director and Victim Assistance Program Coordinator, Vermont Center of Crime Victims Services;
  • Amanda Crispel, Asst. Dean of Game Development, and an Assoc. Professor of Game Design, Champlain College;
  • Rob Evans, Vermont School Safety Liaison;
  • Jack Helm, Retired Colorado police officer, daycare provider;
  • Victor Hinojosa, Norwich University student;
  • Andrew Laing, Chief Data Officer, Vermont Agency of Digital Services;
  • Danielle Lindley, LICSW, Division Director, Children, Youth & Family Services, Northwest Counseling and Support Services;
  • Michael Manley, Captain, Vermont State Police;
  • George Merkel, Vergennes Police Chief;
  • Catherine Simonson, LICSW, Chief Client Services Officer, Howard Center;
  • Rory Thibault, Washington County States Attorney;
  • Matt Valerio, Vermont Defender General;
  • Robert Walsh, Psychologist, College of St. Joseph Traumatology Institute;
  • Maxine Grad, State Representative, Washington-7;
  • Pat Brennan, State Representative, Chittenden 9-2;
  • Robert A. Pelosi, LCMHC, Traumatic Stress Expert, Southern Vermont Special Services;
  • Robert Mello, Superior Court Judge, Chittenden Civil Division; and
  • Shannon Morton, DCF-FSD Staff Safety Manager and Certified Threat Manager.